The Spanish Autocross Championship of 2021 began its usual Galician mini-season with the dispute of the fifth round of the season on July 10 and 11 in Carballo. In the first of the two Coruña events of the year, Speed Car added two victories as Eduard Bañeres won in Division III with his TTR and Josep Aranda in Car Cross Junior with his Xtrem. In addition, two other Xtrem riders climbed to the second step of the podium in their respective categories, Joan Salichs in Car Cross and Quim González in Junior.


Eduard Bañeres
(1st Div.III)

Eduard Bañeres scored his first Division III victory by winning the A final at Carballo. The Catalan driver of the Speed Car TTX had climbed to the third step of the podium in the previous three rounds of the season, and in the fourth round of the year confirmed his adaptation to the category getting his first victory. Eduard scored the second best time in the qualifying session and was second in the heats. In the final, the Speed Car driver drove with great efficiency over the difficult Coruña track and ended up taking advantage of the close fight between his rivals to win by just three tenths over the second placed driver.

-> Division III results (pdf file)


Joan Salichs
(2nd CarCross)

Josep María Vila
(4th CarCross)

Arnau Biosca
(14th CarCross)

A great entry list in Car Cross, with 42 riders looking for the 15 places for the final, which four of the seven who participated in Carballo reached at the wheel of the Xtrems built by Speed Car. The Lahoz Industries model was again the one that had more units in the decisive race of a national series race, and Joan Salichs scored a new podium. The Lleida rider was the second fastest in qualifying, won two of his heats and finished second in the final, less than four tenths behind the winner. A result that consolidates Salichs among the title contenders this season.

A little more than a second from the podium finished Josep Maria Vila, fourth in the final after having been 16th in the qualifying session and winning his three heats.

Joaquín Fontán
(15th CarCross)

The other two Speed Car drivers in the final were less fortunate, Arnau Biosca crossed the finish line in 12th place but a penalty sent him to 14th position in the final standings while Joaquín Fontán closed the table, also losing a place because of a penalty.

-> CarCross results (pdf file)


Josep Aranda
(1st Junior)

Quim González
(2nd Junior)

Pol Durán
(6th Junior)

Fourth consecutive victory for Speed Car in the Junior category. On this occasion the winner was Josep Aranda, who had started the season with victory in Lleida and dominated with absolute authority in Carballo. The driver of the Team Mollerusa was the only one able to lap under 46 seconds in qualifying, won in the three heats and gave no chance to his rivals in the final, thus scoring the maximun points in the weekend.

Three and a half seconds after Aranda crossed the finish line another Xtrem, driven by Quim González, who completed a new Speed Car 1-2 in Car Cross Junior. Sixth finished the winner of the previous two rounds of the season, Pol Durán, while Aleix Costa was tenth with the fourth Xtrem present in Coruña within the category reserved to the young prospects of the Spanish autocross.

Aleix Costa
(10th Junior)

-> CarCross Junior results (pdf file)

Pictures: CEAX RFEdA press service