AUTOCROSS MIRANDA DE EBRO (Spanish championship)

The 8 and 9 of September was held at Miranda de Ebro the second last round of the 2018 Spanish Autocross Championship. The races in the Antonio Vadillo circuit produced great results for the Speed Car drivers, with four on the podium and the curious circunstance of three them getting almost the same positions as in the previous round of the series, run in Arteixo.

Juan José Moll won again in Carcross, with another driver of an Xtrem also on the podium, Pepe Arqué, who finished third, while both Juan José Aranda, in the division III, and Pol Catalá, in Junior, where second.


Juan José Aranda
(2nd Div.III)

Ares Lahoz
(6th Div.III)

Aranda again on the second step of the podium

Record entry at Miranda de Ebro in the category for the more powerfull singlseaters of the Spanish Autocross, nineteen cars, three of them being the Speed Cars of Juan Jose Aranda, Ares Lahoz and Javier Gónez. The best result was scored by Aranda, who got again to the second step of the podium after fighting for the win from the start to the end of the race to cross the finish line just two tenths behind the winner. With this result, his fifth podium of the year, the Speed Car driver remain in contention for the title, that will be decided in the very last race of the championship, due in October at Cerro Negro.

Good result also in the Burgos' event for Ares Lahoz, who was back to the national series after her positive foray in the European Championship in summer. The young Speed Car driver was second in the Kumho Cup and sixth overall, showing again her speed and the good performances of the agile and light Speed Car TTX to take the fight against the more potent cars.

Ther was no luck for the third Speed Car driver in Miranda de Ebro, Javier Gómez. The local driver got to the final after showing an interesting progress trough the heats, when he was ninth, eighth and sixth. Sadly, a rival spining just in front of him in the first lap meant and unavoidable incident that put him out of the race after a very good start that had put him in seventh position.

-> Division III results (pdf file)


Juan José Moll
(1st CarCross)

Josep Arqué
(3rd CarCross)

Jordi Puigvert
(4th CarCross)

Despite a recent injury, Juan José Moll scored yet another victory with his Speed Car Xtrem. The Escudería Mollerusa driver is unstopable this year and in Miranda de Ebro won by fifth time after another almost perfect weekend with the third fastest time in qualifying and thrre wins in the heats. The points added in the Burgos region race allow Moll to keep his chances in the fight for a championship that he desserves more than anyone else and that only some bad luch in a ocuple of races is making hard to achieve despite being the driver who has crossed first under the chequered flag most tomes this season.

Another Speed Car driver also finsihed on the podium, Josep Arqué, who was third after the eight laps of the final race. A position he got with two laps to go while another driver at the wheel of an Xtrem, Joan Salichs, second along most of the race, couldn't get to the end and was classified 14th.

Three more Speed Car drivers got to the final trough the tough heats so the Xtrems were six among the top 15 cars of the weekend. In fourth position finished Jordi Puigvert while Jordi Pujol was 12th and Pablo Subías car rolled after a contact in the first lap and was out of the race.

-> CarCross results (pdf file)


Pol Catalá
(2nd Junior)

Arnau Biosca

Pol Catalá and Arnau Biosca are always among the top contenders in the Junior category this year año. In Miranda de Ebro, the two Speed Car drivers finished again in the top three positions although this time only one of them scored the points for his result. After the eight laps of the final, Pol finished in the second position while Arnau, who was third, was later excluded from the official results.

The presence of the Xtrems in the race for the younger drivers of Spanish Autocross was completed at Miranda de Ebro by Eduard Bañeres, who finiahed fifth, Josep Aranda, in the seventh position, and Laura Lista, who raced in the heats but couldn't take part in the final.

-> CarCross Junior results (pdf file)