AUTOCROSS ESPLÚS (Spanish Championship)

The 2017 Spanish Autocross Championship completed its schedule the 14th and 15th of October with the final round of the season, held at Esplús. It was the first time for the Huesca region location in the national series and it was and almost unbeatable closing for Speed Car, with two wins, scored by Juanjo Aranda in the division III and Josep Arqué in Junior, and two Spanish Champion titles for Moll and Arqué in the Car Cross and Junior categories.


Juanjo Aranda
(1st Div.III)

The last round of the division III had the Speed Car driver, Juanjo Aranda, as one of his main contenders. At the wheel of the TTR designed and built by Industrias Lahoz, Aranda won at Esplús after being the whole weekend in the top positions.

The 'Potarojos competición''s driver set the second best time in qualifying and got the 'pole position' for the final with a win and a second position in the heats. In the race, Aranda won with more than three second of difference after the ten laps to the 'Eduardo Lalana' circuit.

With this win, his second of the season, the Speed Car finishes thirs overall in the championship after a campaign where he has been very often fighting at the top with the TTR.

-> Division III results (pdf file)

-> Spanish Championship, Division III (pdf file)


Juanjo Moll
(CarCross Spanish Champion)

David Casadevall
(3rd CarCross)

David Megías
(11th CarCross)

A very exciting end of the season in carcross, with the Speed Car driver, Juan José Moll, winning the championship thanks to the 5th position scored in the final round of the series. A result that added to the three wins and two seconds from the first five events of the year, allows him to win again the title after a quite hard second part of the season. At the wheel of the Xtrem, Moll has kept his cool when things went wrong, being able to score enough points to stay on the top of the overall standings for second year in a row.

In the final round of the year, the best placed Speed Car was the driven by David Casadevall, who scored his second podium of the year, being third to finish the championship in 5th position. Just ahead of him in the final results ends up another Xtrem's driver, Jordi Puigvert, who wasn't very lucky at Esplús, where he couldn't get to the final.

Among the top 15 of the last round of the season were six more Speed Car, so more than half of the field was at the wheel of the Xtrems from Industrias Lahoz. As well as the 3rd position of Casadevall and the 5th of Moll, Jordi Nualart, Joaquim Fontán and Joan Closa crossed the finish line grouped from 7th to 9th, David Megías and Pau Aulet fought for the 11th to the very end, getting by the chequered flag just three tenths apart, and Robert Durán finished in 14th position.

-> CarCross Results (pdf fle)

-> Spanish Championship, CarCross (pdf fle)


Josep Arqué
(Junior Spanish Champion)

Joan Salichs
(3rd junior)

Ares Lahoz (4th junior)

Josep Arqué clinched the title of Spanish Champion of the Junior category in dominant fashion. The Speed Car got to Esplús leading the series and was on the top since qualifying, scoring the fastest time. Two wins in the heats put him at the front of the grid for the final race, where he won to celebrata the championship from the top step of the podium.

In 3rd position, both in the final race and the championship, finished another Speed Car Xtrem driver, Joan Salichs. Also Ares Lahoz scored the same result in the last round and the overall standings. The young Speed Car driver was 4th at Esplús and ends up the championship in the same position after a verty good season at the wheel of her Xtrem. Right behind her in the series finished Pol Catalá, also 5th in the final race, ahead of Eduard Bañeres, while Laura Lista was 8th at Esplús and 6th in the overall standings of a Junior category that finished wiath five Speed Car Xtrem drivers in the top six positions.

Pol Catalá
(5th junior)

-> CarCross Junior Results (pdf fle)

-> Spanish Championship, CarCross Junior (pdf fle)