AUTOCROSS MIRANDA DE EBRO (Spanish championship)

The Spanish Autocross championship completed its 2016 schedule with the last round being held on the 2nd and 4th of September at Miranda de Ebro, where Speed Car clinched yet another national title with Juan José Moll's victory in the Car Cross category. This win that gave him first position in the final standings and it was also part of the spectacular 1-2-3 for the Industrias Lahoz built Xtrems, with Jordi Puigvert taking second and David Casadevall finishing third to fill the podium in the last race of the year. The title for Moll in the Car Cross category adds to the one already secured by Joan Enric De María in Division III to complete yet another great season for Speed Car, with their drivers winning two more national championships.


Delfín Lahoz (3rd Div.III)

Juanjo Aranda (5th Div.III)

Javier Gómez

Even without the already crowned champion, Joan Enric de María, the Speed Cars still had three cars in Division III with the usual presence of Delfín Lahoz, with the TTX, and Juan José Aranda, with TTR, was bolstered with another TTR for the local driver Javier Gómez.

Gómez was the fastest Speed Car driver in the timed practice, scoring the second best time. Right behind him was Delfín, with the third fastest time, while Aranda was sixth among the total of 18 Division III competitors Miranda de Ebro.

The heats were dominated by Delfín Lahoz, who won his two races to get pole position for the final. Aranda was sixth overall after being sixth and third in his two heats, while Gómez, who had finished third in the first, crossed first under the chequered flag at the second but received a time penalty that sent him back to eighth and without any chance of a good position for the starting grid.

The final produced a very close fight for the win, with the top three crossing the finish line with barely a second covering them with the TTX of Delfín Lahoz third so added yet another podium to his tally of this season. A good result also for Juanjo Aranda, who finished fifth with the TTR, just a second a half behind the fourth placed car.

-> Division III results (pdf file)


Juan José Moll (1st CarCross)

Jordi Puigvert (2nd CarCross)

David Casadevall (3nd CarCross)

Almost fifty Car Cross entered the last round of the championship, that went to the wire with Juan José Moll, one of the nine drivers in Speed Car Xtrems at Miranda de Ebro, and he was leading the standings ahead of the event.

The 'Escudería Mollerusa' driver was determined to keep his first position and, after scoring the second fastest time in qualifying, he won his two heats to get pole position for the final. Also on the first row of the grid was another Speed Car driver, Jordi Puigvert, who also won his two heats, while the third driver of a Xtrem that went through to the final was David Casadevall, seventh after being fourth and second in his two heats.

The final ended up being a complete whitewash for the Speed Cars, which crossed under the chequered flag in the three first positions. The icing on the cake for the spectacular Xtrem treble was the win of Juanjo Moll that secured, in the most brilliant fashion, his title of Spanish Autocross champion. A success that the Mallorca born driver celebrated on the podium with his two team mates, Jordi Puigvert, who finished the last race of the year in second position, and David Casadevall, who was third.

-> CarCross results (pdf file)


Víctor Aguirre (6th Junior CarCross)

Ares Lahoz (8th Junior CarCross)

Pepe Arqué (9th Junior CarCross)

It was a very closely matched contest at the last round of the season for the young drivers of the Car Cross Junior category. Among them where three driving the Speed Car Xtrems, the two that have been following the whole series this year, Ares Lahoz and Pepe Arqué, plus the driver from La Rioja region Víctor Aguirre.

Pepe was fourth fastest in the timed practice, with Ares being fifth and Víctor ninth. In the heats, Ares was fourth on the grid after a seventh and a third in the heats. Also Víctor improved a position with a seventh place overall, while Pepe lost a bit of ground with a tenth in the final heat that sent him to eighth on the grid even after being fifth in the previous heat.

The final race of the weekend produced a very close fight from third to ninth positions, with seven drivers running quite close during most of the laps and crossing the finish line with less than a two second gap. The three drivers of Speed Car were among them, finally being classified sixth for Víctor Aguirre, eighth for Ares Lahoz and Pepe Arqué ninth.

-> CarCross Junior results (pdf file)