AUTOCROSS CARBALLO (Spanish championship)

The streak of good results in the 2016 Spanish Autocross championship continues for the Speed Car drivers. The fifth round of the series, held at Carballo on the 2nd and 3rd of July produced yet more success for the Industrias Lahoz built cars, with a new win for Joan Enric and his Speed Car TTR in the Division 3 and another podium position in Car Cross for Juanjo Moll, second with his Speed Car Xtrem.


Joan Enric de María (1st Div.III)

Delfín Lahoz (8th Div.III)

Division III podium

Fourth win of the year for Joan Enric de María, who seems unstoppable on his way to back to back Spanish championship titles in Division III at the wheel of the Speed Car TTR. This new victory for the Catalonian driver means that Speed Car have won the five races held so far this season in the category for the more powerful single seaters in Spanish autocross.

At Carballo, the Escudería Lleida driver dominated the weekend again, scoring the fastest time in qualifying and only missing out on victory in one of the heats. In the final, De Maria won with ease, crossing the finish line, after nine laps, more than three seconds ahead of his closest competitor.

Bad luck for Delfín Lahoz though, who again showed his pace with the latest model of Speed Car for Division III, the TTX, but finally had to settle for eighth position in the final results after having to retire with three laps to go in a race he started third after third and fourth positions in the heats.

-> Division III results (pdf file)


Juan José Moll (2nd CarCross)

David Casadevall (5th CarCross)

Jordi Puigvert (10th CarCross)

The always competitive Car Cross category at Carballo had an entry of 37 drivers, 8 of them with the Speed Car Xtrem built by Industrias Lahoz.

As in the previous round of the series, Juan José Moll, David Casadevall and Jordi Puigvert were again the three Speed Car Xtrem drivers who got through to the top 15 final.

And once again the best result in the last race was for Moll, who finished second, only beaten by the Spanish Rally Championship driver, Iván Ares, not a regular competitor in the series, but ahead of all his main rivals for the title. In fact, thanks to the points scored at Carballo, Moll leads now the overall standings of the Car Cross Spanish Championship.

The next Speed Car under the chequered flag in the first round of the series held this year in the Galizia region was that driven by David Casadevall, who was fifth, his best result so far this season.

Tenth at the end of the final race was Jordi Puigvert, who consolidates his position among the main contenders of the series after scoring more points to add to the ones he has thanks to his top five placings at the previous two rounds.

-> CarCross results (pdf file)


Ares Lahoz (5th Junior CarCross)

Pepe Arqué (6th Junior CarCross)

Fifth and sixth positions went to Speed Car Xtrem drivers, Ares Lahoz and Pepe Arqué, in the final of the Car Cross Junior category.

Ares repeated her good result in the previous event of the championship and showed her speed again during a weekend where she was always among the top drivers of the category. The young Speed Car driver had been fourth in qualifying and only lost a bit of ground in the heats, when she was sixth and seventh, recovering in the final to cross the finish line in fifth position.

Right behind her was Pepe Arqué, who came from his win at the Mollerusa round of the series and started the event of Carballo with great expectations given his fastest time in qualifying. However, Pepe didn't have any luck in the heats as he got a jump start penalty and had to start the final from the back of the field. Despite this, and without losing his motivation, the Speed Car driver recovered several positions to finish sixth and score some important points in the overall standings of the championship.

-> CarCross Junior results (pdf file)